Jamaat-e-Islami Takes Non-Partisan Stance: supports 69 Congress, 41 BRS candidates for Telangana Assembly Elections

Related Stories
Here is why KCR’s daughter K Kavitha is being questioned by ED
Sharmila will soon join Congress, says Ramachandra Rao
Jagan asks YSRCP cadres to go for clean sweep
Sonia Gandhi Extended Invitation to Contest Lok Sabha Seat from Telangana
Governor read Congress’ Manifesto in her address to the joint session: BRS

Hyderabad: In a decisive move, the Jamaat-e-Islami Telangana declared its non-alignment with any particular political party in the upcoming Telangana state assembly elections. However, the organization surprised observers by lending support to 69 candidates, predominantly contesting on a Congress ticket.

The Jamaat-e-Islami Hind, Telangana Chapter, emphasized its non-partisan stance, clarifying that it doesn’t align with specific political parties but instead supports individual candidates based on local unit recommendations. Notably, the organization backed 41 candidates on BRS tickets, seven from All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM), and one each from the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Communist Party of India Marxist (CPIM).

According to Abdul Majeed Shoaib, Convener of the Jamaat-e-Islami Political Committee, the decision-making process involved extensive surveys conducted by the organization’s cadre, gathering ground-level data. Additionally, civil society organizations played a role in shaping the endorsement choices.

Secular credentials emerged as a pivotal criterion, with considerations extending to candidates’ public perception and community relationships. Jamaat-e-Islami took a comprehensive approach, evaluating candidates not merely on party lines but also on their alignment with the organization’s principles.

Sources within the Jamaat revealed internal debates regarding party support, delaying the announcement. The decision, announced on Wednesday, sought additional clarity, reflecting the organization’s commitment to a well-informed and considered approach.

Among the key candidates receiving support are Mohammad Azharuddin (Congress) from the Jubilee Hills constituency, Ahmed Balala (AIMIM) from Malakpet, Mohammad Ali Shabbir (Congress) from Nizamabad Urban, and BRS candidate from Goshamahal. The organization’s unexpected move adds an intriguing dynamic to the unfolding electoral landscape in Telangana.

Back to top button