Pan India

Election Commission Bans Exit Polls During State Assembly Elections in Five States

New Delhi: On October 31, the Election Commission of India (EC) issued a notification, prohibiting the conduct, publication, and publicity of exit polls from 7 a.m. on November 7 to 6:30 p.m. on November 30, coinciding with the Assembly elections in five States.

Related Stories
INDIA bloc seat sharing to talks to begin after Sunday, AAP demanding seats in Guj, Haryana, NE
Election Commission Addresses Concerns Regarding the Integrity of Electoral Rolls in Andhra Pradesh Polls
Rajasthan: BJP, Cong rush to rebels, independents as exit polls hint split verdict
Mizoram NGO to meet EC for change in counting date; officials readying for Dec 3 results
Election Commission serves notice to KTR for meeting at T-Works

The polling schedule includes two phases in Chhattisgarh on November 7 and November 17, and single-phase voting in Mizoram, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Telangana on November 7, November 17, November 25, and November 30, respectively.

The EC emphasized that violating this regulation could lead to imprisonment for up to two years, a fine, or both, in accordance with electoral law.

Back to top button