Pan India

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: BJP Denies Tickets to Leaders Stirring Controversies Against Muslims

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced its list of 195 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2024. This is the first list released by the BJP for the upcoming elections.

New Delhi: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced its list of 195 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections 2024. This is the first list released by the BJP for the upcoming elections.

Related Stories
Tej Pratap Yadav Suggests Lav-Kush Arrow May Only Affect BJP
Sai Takes Oath as Chhattisgarh CM, Accompanied by Two Deputies, Sharma and Sao
S&P Global Market Intelligence notes that the Interim Budget reflects a strong sense of political confidence within the BJP
No discussion on seat sharing as of yet, Kumaraswamy on BJP-JD (S) alliance in K’taka 
Viral video expose chaotic scene in Delhi metro, passengers rally to protect elderly man

Several reasons have sparked debates regarding the candidates included in the initial list. The major point of contention is the exclusion of incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) known for their provocative remarks against Muslims.

It is noteworthy that the BJP has not given tickets to 34 incumbent assembly members for the upcoming elections. Among them, especially notable are the parliamentarians who remained in the news during their tenure for their ‘incendiary’ statements, sparking considerable political controversy.

The BJP has excluded prominent parliamentarians such as Pragya Singh Thakur, Ramesh Bidhuri, and Parvesh Verma from its first list. These leaders have remained controversial both within and outside Parliament due to their contentious statements.

By denying them tickets again, the BJP has sent a message that the party does not want to take any risks before the elections nor does it want to give any issues to the opposition.

In the previous elections, the BJP fielded Pragya Singh Thakur in place of Alok Sharma. Pragya Singh Thakur faces allegations of involvement in the 2008 Malegaon bombings. Her candidature sparked considerable controversy at the time.

Since then, Pragya Singh Thakur has been embroiled in various controversies over the past five years, including health issues leading to bail, seen playing kabaddi and participating in Garba nights. However, the statement that caused her the most damage was when she referred to Nathuram Godse, Mahatma Gandhi’s assassin, as a “patriot.”

Another name missing from the BJP’s list and which has left people puzzled is Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma. This time, the party has not given a ticket to Parvesh Verma, the son of the late former Chief Minister Sahib Singh Verma. It is believed that the party has taken this decision while keeping Parvesh Verma’s statements and speeches in mind.

Remember that before the 2020 Delhi elections, Parvesh Verma made controversial remarks during the Shaheen Bagh protests. During that time, he said that if the BJP comes to power in Delhi, the protesters will be cleared within an hour.

In 2022, Parvesh Verma once again remained in the headlines when he spoke about boycotting minorities. During this time, he said that wherever they need to set their minds right, the only solution is a complete boycott. If you agree, raise your hand.

Another MP who has not been given a ticket this time due to his controversial statements is Ramesh Bidhuri, MP from South Delhi. During a debate in September last year, Bidhuri used offensive language against the AAP MP Danish Ali. The derogatory remarks were caught on camera, leading to a major controversy. However, later, the South Delhi MP apologized.

Other prominent MPs from Delhi who have not been given tickets include Meenakshi Lekhi and Harsh Vardhan. The BJP, which won every seat in the national capital in the 2019 elections, is facing a joint opposition this time. AAP is contesting on four seats, while Congress is contesting on three seats. BJP’s senior leader Anjana Shishma Suraj’s daughter and lawyer Bansuri have been fielded from New Delhi.

BJP sources revealed that various factors are considered during the selection of candidates. A party leader said that the ability to win is very important during candidate selection. It was found that many assembly members were unpopular in their constituencies.

Back to top button